MCSD_Azure_BlkRecently, Microsoft announced the new Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer: Azure Solutions Architect certification. This certification is a bit unique in relation to the other MCSD certifications as it’s for Architects, not Developers. Being for Architects, the exams required to earn the certification test expertise in Development, Infrastructure (IT Pro and DevOps) and Architecture/Design.

Update January 2019: This certification has been retired, and replaced with the Microsoft Certified: Azure Developer Associate certification.

Exams Required

The MCSD: Azure Solutions Architect certification requires passing 3 exam.

Each exam covers a different expertise area. To earn this certification you will need to prove expertise in Development, Infrastructure (IT Pro and DevOps) and Architecture/Design.

The links above go to study guides listing materials and tips that can be used when studying for each exam.

4 Certifications in 1

MCSD Azure Solutions ArchitectWhen each of the 3 exams required for the MCSD: Microsoft Azure Solutions Architect certification is passed you also earn a Microsoft Specialist certification for the expertise area covered by that exam.

  • Microsoft Specialist: Developing Microsoft Azure Solutions
  • Microsoft Specialist: Implementing Microsoft Azure Solutions
  • Microsoft Specialist: Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions

You could choose to pass 1 of these exams to get Azure certified, but passing all 3 will earn you 4 certifications; the 3 above in addition to MCSD: Architecting Microsoft Azure Solutions.

Posted by Chris Pietschmann

Chris is a Microsoft MVP and has nearly 20 years of experience building enterprise systems both in the cloud and on-premises. He is also a Microsoft Certified Azure Solutions Architect and developer, a Microsoft Certified Trainer (MCT), and Cloud Advocate. He has a passion for technology and sharing what he learns with others to help enable them to learn faster and be more productive.


  1. […] While taking each individual certification exam earns you an Azure Specialist certification, there is an incentive to taking all three. Taking all 3 Azure certification exams will not just earn you all 3 Azure Specialist certifications, but it will also earn you the much larger Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD) Azure Solutions Architect. […]


  2. […] growing. The first certifications were the Developer, Infrastructure, Architecture, and bigger MCSD Azure Solutions Architect certifications. As Azure grows, so does the need to fill out the Microsoft Certification lineup with additional […]


  3. […] are many changes afoot in the Microsoft Certification realm, so if you were targeting to obtain the MCSD: Azure Solutions Architect certification you might be wondering, “What do I do now?” What ever you decide, […]


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.